Poynter Primary School is required to adhere to the Kindergarten to Year 10 Western Australian (WA) Curriculum which was developed by the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) and adapted from the Australian Curriculum. The curriculum provides a coherent and comprehensive set of content and achievement standards which are used to plan learning programs, assess student progress and report to parents. It has been designed to meet the needs of students in Western Australia.

There are eight learning areas that encompass the WA Curriculum:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (including Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography, History, Work Studies)
  • Languages
  • The Arts (including Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts)
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Technologies (including Design and Technology, Digital Technologies).

For further information on the Kindergarten to Year 10 WA Curriculum including the guiding principles for teaching, learning and assessment, what students will learn and how they will be assessed please click on the following link

NAPLAN (the National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy) is the only national assessment that all children undertake. More information on NAPLAN can be found at the following link

About our Programs

An enthusiastic and experienced staff combine to utilise a variety of excellent resources to implement the curriculum in the eight learning areas. Our staff are committed to the philosophy that learning is continuous and teachers strive for the improvement of all students. This is complemented with extracurricular programs and activities.